CYCLING: A heavy racing schedule by Justin Walters and an ever-improving season from Steve Vanes produced a close finish in the final round of Wyre Forest CRC’s midweek time trial championship.

The race incorporated the club’s individual ten miles time trial championship with Vanes prevailing on this occasion, with Walters runner-up and Jon Howard taking the final podium place.

Lucy Walters won the ladies title at last, cracking the 26 minutes barrier for this hard, undulating course.

Walters bounced back from his disappointment by winning the club’s 25 miles individual time trial championship which was incorporated into the Echelon/VTTA event held near Cookhill.

In his first solo race at this distance he finished in sixth place overall from 50 finishers with a time of 54 minutes 50 seconds. Howard rode another consistent race for tenth place in 55:51 with Paul Gibson just missing the hour with 1.01:58 in 39th place.

Midweek time trial championship results: Steve Vanes 23:01, Justin Walters 23:10, Jon Howard 23:55, Andy Overton 24:12, Oliver Rolinson 25:34, Ian Connolly 25:47, Brad Bradley 25:50, Lucy Walters 25:56, Stuart Walker 26:04, Adam Grimes 26:45, Paul Gibson 27:01, David Briggs 27:04, Andy Willetts 28:13, Ken Bradbury 28:29, Mark Turner 30:44, Steve Rolinson 33:48.