KIDDERMINSTER Victoria’s woes with the bat continued in the Birmingham League Premier as they were put to the sword by in-form Brockhampton.

The Chester Road outfit were simply no match for a big scoring home side.

With just one win in the league all season, KVCC have slipped to third from bottom.

Their biggest problem is a lack of runs.

So far this season, only Michael Hill, who has averaged 52, and Craig Wood (37.14 runs) have made an impact with the willow.

Brockhampton had won the toss a decided to bat on what was a very good wicket.

They had scored 87 runs off only 18 overs when they lost their first wicket.

Harry Langford (33) was caught by captain Jonathan Wright off the bowling off Matt Pardoe.

The second wicket came at 121, with opener Adam Hewlett (68) out to a good catch by Ryan Derrick.

Charlie Stainforth, following on from his century for the 2nd XI last week, was the bowler.

Another 67 runs were added for the third wicket before Ben Stebbings (31), gave Derrick his second catch and Gareth Williams his first wicket.

Brockhampton appeared to score at will, reaching 210 by the 43rd over.

The fourth wicket, Chris Powell (17), gave Williams a second scalp with Craig Wood taking the catch.

With 12 overs remaining, Brockhampton’s run rate eased a little, but wickets fell at 226, 233, 268, and 273.

Chris Boroughs had scored 60 when he was caught by Stainforth, while Joe Crichard (14) was run out by Derrick, Will Barrett (20) was bowled by Williams and Callum Stewart (5) was dismissed by Michael Hill.

Gareth Williams took 3-83 and Matt Pardoe 2-61 as Brockhampton made an imposing 288-8.

But KVCC’s batting order failed to shine, with only four batsmen getting into double figures.

The top scorer was Wright (28), followed by Matt Pardoe (27), Zac Turley (25), and Tom Kimberlin (13) as they slumped to 128 all out.

There was more misery for Kidderminster on Sunday, as they were beaten by two wickets in the semi-finals of the Graham Williamson Trophy semi-final by Shrewsbury.

Batting first, KVCC scored 197-8 (40 overs) but the hosts, who have won the tournament four years in a row, replied with 200-8 (38.4 overs).

Wood was the top scorer with 53 runs, Hill (32) and Richard Kimberlin (34) also contributing to the total.