WYRE Forest District Council is set to lose nine councillors in the next election as new ward boundaries are recommended.

After a 10-week public consultation by the independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England, the final recommendations propose that Wyre Forest should be represented by 33 councillors in the future, nine fewer than its current arrangements.

The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 10 three-member wards, one two-member ward and one single-member ward across the district.

Councillor Nathan Desmond, the council's cabinet member for Resources and Transformation, said the council began seeking a review into the boundaries and amount of councillors in 2011.

He said: "We are pleased that the Boundary Commission has published its final recommendations. Subject to any Parliamentary debate on the final recommendations, local residents, political parties and potential candidates now have certainty about the ward boundaries and how many Councillors will be elected next May.

“The Boundary Commission’s final recommendations mean that there will be a reduction in the cost of councillors, reflecting that the number of employees and the council’s budget have been falling and continue to fall.”

As part of the new changes, Stourport-on-Severn will be contained entirely within the town's boundaries.

The council will now move forward with its review of polling districts and polling places, which has to be completed by January 2015.

A consultation paper will be published later in October which any local electors, political parties and other interested organisations are encouraged to respond to.