THE new chairman of Wyre Forest District Council was sworn in and a new leader was elected at its annual council on Wednesday, May 17.

Councillor Chris Rogers has been appointed chairman, with councillor Marcus Hart becoming the council's new leader.

It follows the local elections earlier this month, where the Conservatives took back control of the council after gaining six seats.

Councillor Rogers was chairman of Worcestershire County Council in 2022-2023 and previously chaired Wyre Forest District Council between 2015 and 2016.

He said: “It’s a real honour and privilege to be in this role again.

"When I’m out and about I represent the council in all my activities and I am very proud to be doing so back where I live, in Wyre Forest.”

He has been a Wyre Forest District councillor for 12 years and currently represents Mitton ward, in Stourport.

Councillor John Byng, who represents Wribbenhall and Arley, is vice chairman for the municipal year 2023/24.

During the meeting, councillor Marcus Hart was elected leader of the council.

Councillor Hart, who represents Wyre Forest Rural, will be in the position until the annual meeting after the elections in May 2027.

He said: “I am honoured to be elected leader of the council again. I will draw on my experience of being leader for five years from 2014-2019.

"Now the hard work begins on delivering on our manifesto commitments and ensuring the future prosperity and continued regeneration of our district.

"We will be delivering the best possible services that are important for people living in, working in and visiting the district.”

Councillor Hart has announced that his cabinet will be; councillor Ian Hardiman, deputy leader and cabinet member for housing, health and well-being, councillor Ben Brookes, cabinet member for operational services, councillor Dan Morehead, cabinet member for economic regeneration, planning and the green agenda, councillor Tracey Onslow, cabinet member for culture, leisure, arts and community safety, and councillor David Ross, cabinet member for finance and capital portfolio.