ITV's new drama Three Little Birds is set to broadcast soon on the channel and it is written by comedian Lenny Henry.

Starring Rochelle Neil, Saffron Coomber and Yazmin Belo, the show is based on stories Henry's mother and aunt told him about coming to Britain in the 1950s.

The synopsis shares that Leah (Neill) and her sister Chantrelle (Coomber) are on a mission to escort their friend Hosanna (Belo) from Jamaica to Britain.

This is so she can potentially marry their brother Aston.

Radio Times adds: "Leah hopes to find work quickly in Aston's home town of Dudley, while Chantrelle has accepted a job as a live-in nanny near London, but everything falls into disarray upon their arrival."

In total, there will be six episodes in the series which is produced by Henry and Russell T Davies among others.

Speaking on what the series is about Henry explained: "It's about overcoming, it's about women and feminism. They literally came to this country and they worked hard, got their kids and men over here, and the show is about that. It's happy, it's moving, it's sad at times, and it looks beautiful."

Three Little Birds full cast

  • Rochelle Neil as Leah Whittaker
  • Saffron Coomber as Chantrelle Brahms
  • Yazmin Belo as Hosanna Drake
  • Javone Prince as Aston Brahms
  • Leemore Marrett Jr as Ephraim Whittaker
  • Bobby Gordon as Shelton Powell
  • Arthur Darvill as Ernest Wantage
  • Amy Beth Hayes as Diana Wantage

When will Three Little Birds be on TV?

The first episode of Three Little Birds will air at 8pm on Sunday, October 22 on ITV1.

After that, the remaining episodes will be broadcast weekly in the same time slot, but will also be available as a boxset on ITVX once the first episode has aired.