A REDRAWING of boundaries is being proposed for council divisions in Worcestershire.

The Local Government Boundary Commission, the independent body that draws these boundaries, is reviewing Worcestershire County Council to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that division arrangements will help the council work effectively.

The commission is proposing that there should be 52 divisions, with 5 two-councillor divisions and 47 one-councillor divisions.

Proposed changes include the creation of a new two-councillor division in Bromsgrove, dividing Stourport into two single-councillor divisions and retaining two-councillor divisions in Redditch.

The commission wants to hear what residents and local organisations think about the proposals and has started a ten-week consultation on the proposals will run until March 18 2024.

Launching the consultation Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We want people in Worcestershire to help us.

"We have drawn up proposals for new divisions in Worcestershire. We want to make sure these new electoral arrangements reflect communities. We also want them to be easy to understand and convenient for local people.

"Residents and local organisations can help us do that. We would like them to let us know whether they agree with our proposals before we take final decisions.

"It’s easy to get involved. Go to our website. Or you can e-mail or write to us.

"Just tell us what you think and give us some details why you think that. It’s really simple, so do get involved.”

People can see details of the proposals and comment on the names of divisions and their boundaries on the commission's website.

People can also give their views by e-mail at reviews@lgbce.org.uk, and by post: Review Officer (Worcestershire), LGBCE, PO Box 133, Blyth, NE24 9FE.