NINE Worcestershire pathway players past and present helped Malvern College to win the National Schools Twenty20 cricket competition.

The squad, skippered by County professional Jack Haynes, triumphed on finals day at Arundel.

Malvern defeated Merchant Taylors School in the semis and then Sedbergh in the final.

The other eight pathway players were Dan Holland, Luke Tulacz, Josh Baker, Aaron Tomson, Robbie Hardwick, Josh Dickenson, Rehaan Edavaleth and Ludo Staley.

The college is the winter home for the County players between November and March.

Haynes set the tone in the semi-finals after electing to bat in smashing 21 off the first over before 75 came from the first six overs.

Wicketkeeper Hardwick made 43 off 19 balls and Haynes 57 while Holland maintained the run-rate before three late boundaries from Tulacz as Malvern totalled 195-5.

Merchant Taylors started well but the spinners held their nerve and wickets started to fall regularly.

Baker picked up 3-20, Holland 2-9 and Tomson 2-32 in their opponents' 138 all out.

In the final, Malvern were put into bat on a pitch starting to take turn.

Haynes and Hardwick enjoyed an opening stand of 41 as the former went on to make 49.

Sean Aggarwal, Dickenson and Tulacz all batted maturely in allowing Malvern to total 155-6.

In reply, Baker took a wicket in his first over.

In the six-over powerplay another four wickets fell with two to Staley.

Sedbergh were reduced to 57-7 but the lower-order batsmen fought back to 136-8.

Baker picked up a wicket on his return with Holland catching well on the boundary.

Sedbergh needed 14 runs off 2.3 overs when leg-spinner Tomson collected the final wicket via an edge through to Hardwick.