ADAM Newey was one of Wyre Forest’s strongest performers in the third round of the Nuneaton Junior League.

The club put up their usual spirited performance to finish in third place.

Newey who took first place in three individual events in the under-10s 50m freestyle and backstroke and U11s butterfly, which was in the age group above his own.

There were also individual wins for Emily Seymour-Perry (11/u 50m backstroke and 50m freestyle), Olivia Jay (11/u 50m breaststroke, 12/u 50m breaststroke), Niamh Larkin (10/u 50m breaststroke), Nicole Tanser-Voets (11/u 50m butterfly) and Georgia Lees (12/u 50m freestyle).

In the relays, there were wins in the girls under-11s medley for Seymour-Perry, Jay, Nicole Tanser-Voets and Ria Chance.

Eden Fallon-Davies teamed up with Jay, Seymour-Perry and Tanser-Voets to come first in the U11s freestyle.

There were wins for Maia McCrindle, Lois Stevens, Niamh Larkin and Holly Workman (U10s medley), as well as Imogen Cook, Chance, Lees and Nicole Tanser-Voets (U12s freestyle).

Wyre Forest also won the 8x25m cannon.

Kingsbury Aquarius won the day with 211 points, followed by Coalville (201), with Wyre Forest just behind with 199.

On Sunday, swimmers from across the club aged from nine to 66 years took part in the Worcestershire County Relay Championships at Wolverhampton. The stand out performance on the day came in the 13/14 year old girls category, with Abbie Rowley, Emma Elwell, Helena Shackleton and Emma Osborne taking in the freestyle relay and also silver in the medley.

A special mention has to go to all of the masters swimmers who put their pride to one side to participate alongside the children.

There were also silver medals for the 17/24 years freestyle and medley team of Lizzie Hall, Megan Tinsdale, Erica Harris and Anne-Marie Finch.

Bronze medals went to mixed 101-139 years (combined age of swimmers between 101 and 139 years) medley and freestyle foursome of Elliott Thorley, Michele Tarpey, Mark Wilmott and Tracey Moore, the Men’s 140+ years freestyle and medley team of Frank Clark, Dave McMahon, Elliott Thorley and Steve Moss, the Ladies 9/10 freestyle quartet of Holly Workman, Lois Stevens, Niamh Larkin and Maia McCrindle and finally the Ladies 11/12 freestyle line-up ofSeymour-Perry, Tanser-Voets, Jay and Lees.

For further information, call membership secretary Carole Walters on 01299 825769.